Consumer Bill of Rights
  

Webster’s dictionary defines consumerism as «a movement for the protection of the consumer against defective products, misleading advertising, etc.» Limited consumer protection was present until the 1950s and early 1960s. In the 1950s, a significant breakthrough occurred with the establishment of the product-liability concept, whereby a plaintiff did not have to prove negligence but only had to prove that a defective product caused an injury. In his 1962 speech to Congress, President John F. Kennedy outlined four basic consumer rights, which later became known as the Consumer Bill of Rights. Later, in 1985, the United Nations endorsed Kennedy’s Consumer Bill of Rights and expanded it to cover eight consumer rights. Consumer protection can only survive in highly industrialized countries because of the resources needed to finance consumer interests.

Kennedy’s Consumer Bill of Rights included the right to be informed, the right to safety, the right to choose, and the right to be heard. The right to be informed involves protection against misleading information in the areas of financing, advertising, labeling, and packaging. Several laws of the 1960s and 1970s were aimed at this right. The Cigarette Labeling Act (1965), Fair Packaging and Labeling Act (1966), and the Wholesome Meat Act (1967) all addressed packaging. This legislation dealt with the accurate identification of the content of the product and any dangers associated with the product. The Truth-in-Lending Act required full disclosure of all costs and the annual percentage rate on installment loans. Prior to Truth-in-Lending, the actual cost was hidden and confusing to calculate. Another significant piece of legislation, the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, requires a warranty which states that a product will meet performance standards and affirms that a warranty can be stated or implied. Other regulation took place at the state level. Forty states have a cooling-off law, which allows a consumer to change his or her mind when purchasing products from direct salespeople.

The second consumer right, the right to safety, is aimed at injuries caused by using products other than automobiles. To address this problem, the government established the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) in 1972. The CPSC has jurisdiction over thirteen thousand diverse products. The powers of the CPSC include the right to require warning labels, to establish standards of performance, to require immediate notification of a defective product, and to mandate product testing. However, its greatest power is product recall.

The right of consumer choice means the consumer should have a range of products from various companies to choose from when making a purchasing decision. To ensure these rights, the government has taken a number of actions, such as imposing time limits on patents, looking at mergers from the standpoint of limiting consumer choice, and prohibiting unfair price cutting and other unfair business practices.

The final consumer right is the right to be heard. Presently, no government agency is responsible for handling consumer complaints. However, a number of government agencies do attempt to protect certain consumer rights. The Office of Consumer Affairs publishes a Consumer’s Resource Handbook listing agencies that work in the area of consumer rights. In addition, a number of consumer groups issue complaints to the government and industry groups.

The growth of consumerism in this country has not been without opposition. Although corporations have taken positive steps in many areas, they have also opposed advancement of some consumer rights. Because corporations can have deep pockets, they are able to appeal court cases and slow down litigation. Today, however, because of past successes, the need for consumer protection is not nearly as great as it was in previous years.

Bibliography

Alexander, Richard. «The Development of Consumer Rights in the United States Slowed by the Power of Corporate Political Contributions and Lobbying.» 1999. Archived at: http://consumerlawpage.com/article. 1999.

«Consumer Rights.» Archived at: http://www.nolo.com.

«Consumer Rights.» Archived at: http://www.consumer.gld.gov.

«Consumer Rights.» Archived at: http://www.consumer.gld.gov.av/teacher.

«Protection for the Consumer.» Archived at: http://www.hes.eku.edu.


Send by E-mailSend by E-mail   Print versionPrint version
Comments(1)
Книга скарг України (*.111.246)
Про права споживача в Україні – reaction.org.ua/mustknow/prava-spozhivach…
or
You may sign in using:
Enter with Facebook Enter with VK
  

Achtung! Please be polite! Although that modertors of this web-portal are excessively democratic, any unethical, unqotable or just rude expressions, which abuse other visitors of this web site, can be deleted. Also will be deleted any spam and public comments with private phone numbers.

Історія закону про права споживача в США

Словарь Вебстера определяет «потребительство» (consumerism) как «движение по защите прав потребителя от некачественной продукции, обманчивой рекламы и т.д.». Ограниченная защита потребителей присутствовала в США до 1950-ых годов, и в начале 1960-ых. В 1950-ые произошёл значительный прорыв в создани концепции ответственности за продукцию, согласно которой, истец не обязан оправдывать собственную небрежность, но лишь доказать что некачественный продукт причинил ему вред. В 1962 году, президент США Джон Кеннеди, в своём обращении к конгрессу, выделил четыре основных права потребителя, которые позже стали известны как «Билль о правах потребителя» (Consumer Bill of Rights). Позже, в 1985, Организация Объединённых Наций одобрила законопроект Кеннеди, и расширила его до восьми правил. Защита интересов потребителя может существовать лишь в промышленно развитых странах, из-за ресурсов необходимых для финансирования потребительских интересов.

«Билль о правах потребителя» Кеннеди включал в себя: право на получение информации, право на безопасность, право на выбор и право быть услышанным.

Право на получение информации включает защиту от недостоверной информации в области финансирования, рекламы, маркировки и упаковки. Ряд законов, в 1960-1970-ые годы, были направлены на отстаивание этого права. Закон об «этикетировании сигарет» (Cigarette Labeling Act, 1965), закон о «честной маркировке на упаковках» (Fair Packaging and Labeling Act, 1966), закон «здорового мяся» (Wholesome Meat Act, 1967) — все они касались упаковки. Эти законодательные акты касаются точной идентификации содержимого продукта и любых возможных опасностей, связанных с продуктом. Закон «правдивого займа» (Truth-in-Lending Act) требует полного раскрытия всех затрат и годовой процентной ставки по кредитным рассрочкам. До принятия закона «правдивого займа», настоящие расходы могли быть скрытыми и запутанными для расчётов. Еще одна важная часть законодательства, «закон о гарантии Магнусона-Мосса» (Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act), требует обязательной гарантии о том что продукт соответствует производственным стандартам и подтверждает, что гарантия продукта может указываться или подразумеваться. Другие постановления имели место на государственном уровне. Сорок американских штатов приняли закон, который позволяет потребителю «передумывать» и возвращать товар при покупке товара от прямых продавцов.

Второе право потребителя, право на безопасность, направлено на возможные травмы, причинённые при использовании продуктов не являющихся автомобилями. Для решения этой проблемы, в 1972 году, правительство США создало комиссию по безопасности потребительских продуктов (CPSC). Эта комиссия имеет юрисдикцию над тринадцатью тысяч различных товаров. Полномочия совета CPSC включают право требовать предупреждающую маркировку, устанавливать стандарты производства, с тем чтобы потребовать немедленного уведомления о неисправной продукции, а также требование тестирования продукции. Однако, наибольшей властью совета является требование отзыва продукции.

Право на выбор потребителя означает что потребителю, при принятии решения о покупке, должен предлагаться диапазон продуктов от различных производителей на выбор. Для обеспечения этих прав, правительство приняло ряд мер, таких как, введение ограничений по времени патентов, контроль за слияниями производителей, для предотвращения ограничения выбора потребителя, запрет на нечестное ценообразование и другие примеры недобросовестной деловой практики.

И последнее право потребятеля — право быть услышанным. В настоящее время, государственные учреждения не ответственны за рассмотрение жалоб потребителей. Тем не менее, ряд государственных учреждений, делают попытку защиты определенных потребительских прав. Управление по делам потребителей издаёт специальный Справочник Потребителя, перечисляющий учереждения, которые работают в сфере защиты потребительских прав. Кроме того, существует ряд групп потребителей, которые рассматривают и направляют жалобы в государственные учреждения и промышленные группы.

Развитие консюмеризма в США не обошходилось без противников. Несмотря на то что крупные корпорации сделали множество позитивных шагов во многих отраслях, они также выступали против предоставления некоторых прав потребителей. Поскольку некоторые корпорации практически не ограничены в средствах, они имели возможность обжаловать судебные дела и замедлять принятие законов. Однако, к счастью, благодаря прошлым успехам, на сегодняшний день необходимость в защите прав потребителей не так велика как ранее.

Библиография


Надіслати на E-mailНадіслати на E-mail   Версія для друкуВерсія для друку
Коментарі(1)
Книга скарг України (*.111.246)
Про права споживача в Україні – reaction.org.ua/mustknow/prava-spozhivach…
або
Ви можете увійти за допомогою:
Увійти з Facebook Увійти з ВКонтакті
  

Achtung! Будь ласка, будьте ввічливі! Незважаючи на те, що модератори цього порталу вкрай демократичні, будь-які неетичні або грубі висловлювання, що ображають інших користувачів, можуть бути видалені. Також видалятиметься спам і публічні коментарі з приватними номерами телефонів.